Heisman Trophy Recipe For Success
What  are the ingredients Heisman voters look for?
Power 5 Conference: Not since Ty Demeter won the Heisman at BYU in 1990 has a Heisman
Trophy winner come from a school that's not currently in a Power 5 conference. The P5 conference
schools gain the weekly spotlight by dominating the TV networks and the highlight shows.  
The Right Position: The last two decades have only produced three Heisman winners that weren't
positioned as a QB or RB.  Tim Brown 1987, Desmond Howard 1991 and Charles Woodson 1997
broke the mold.  Now with each "passing" year, it has become an award taken home by
quarterbacks.  Since the year 2000, a QB has won the award every year but twice.
Breathtaking Stats:  Despite Tim Tebow being a sophomore in 2007, Heisman voters could not
deny the 59 Td's he accounted for including an SEC record 22 rushing Td's.  Not even Herschel
Walker and Bo Jackson put up those kind of numbers.  When QB Cam Newton rushed for 1,409
yards and 20 TD's in 2010, his bid for the award was not to be denied.
A National Title Contender: It's a trend that's gaining momentum as recent winners (Troy Smith,
Reggie Bush, Matt Leinart Jason White, Mark Ingram and Cam Newton) had their teams
positioned for a national title game appearance when the Heisman voting was conducted in mid
December.  In 2011, both LSU's Tyrann Mathieu and Alabama's Trent Richardson were both
finalist and in the BCS Championship Game.
Buzz and More Buzz:  Without the Hype going into the season, it's nearly impossible for a player to
gain the voters attention:  With player specific promotional websites and aggressive marketing
campaigns launched by a Heisman candidates particular school, it's essential to start the season
with "Heisman Hype" to match "Heisman Talent!."
Defining Moment: Doug Flutie's Hail Mary pass against Miami was a defining moment his
Heisman season.  2009 Heisman winner Mark Ingram sealed the deal with a breakout
performance against Florida in the SEC Championship Game.
Quarterbacks that can run:  Tim Tebow won the Heisman as a sophomore because of his
record-setting and stunning rushing stats. Cam Newton 2010 and Robert Griffin III were dual
threat QB's as well.
Derrick Henry - 2015 Heisman Winner
After bulldozing through the SEC, Henry became the 2nd Bama player to
win college football's top individual award.
Fellowship of
Christian Athletes
Top Heisman Schools
We explore which programs
have brought home the
most stiff-armed trophies
and big schools still
seeking their first one.
Colleges Seeking
Their First Heisman
Will this be the first year that
a Clemson player accepts
the bronzed trophy?
Heisman Winners in
the NFL Draft
Discover the draft history
of players that won
college football's top
Heisman Winners
on National
Championship Teams
Discover which players
played like a champion for
that year's national
2011 Heisman Voting
Take a look back the that
saw RG3 become the
first Baylor player to win
the award.
Breaking the
Heisman Jinx
These players refused to
bow down to the dreaded
jinx and won Super
Bowls, won major
awards and some even
made it to the Pro
Footballl Hall of Fame!
2013 Heisman Voting
The Heisman appeared
to be headed towards
Kansas State's Collin
Klein before Johnny
"Football" Gigged them!
College Football
Rivalry T-Shirts
2015 Preseason Heisman Forecast
Prior to kickoff of the 2015 season, this is how Heisman pundits forecast the race.

TCU QB Trevone Boykin Rates as Top Favorite
After leading the Horned Frogs to a Peach Bowl winning season, Boykin is creating a
Heisman buzz in Fort Worth.  Whoever lands Ohio State's starting QB position is predicted
to make a strong run as well.
Preseason Rankings
  Sports Illustrated
Trevone Boykin, QB TCU
Trevone Boykin, QB TCU
Cardale Jones, QB Ohio state
J.T Barrett and Cardale Jones QBs,
Ohio State
Ezekiel Elliot, RB Ohio State
Nick Chubb, RB, Georgia
Nick Chubb, RB, Georgia
Dak Prescott, QB Mississippi State
Deshaun Watson, QB Clemson
Ezekiel Elliot, RB Ohio State
  Bleacher Report
Dak Prescott, QB Mississippi State
J.T Barrett and Cardale Jones QBs,
Ohio State
Ezekiel Elliot, RB Ohio State
Trevone Boykin, QB TCU
Trevone Boykin, QB TCU
Dalvin Cook, RB Florida State
Nick Chubb, RB, Georgia
Cody Kessler, QB USC
Deshaun Watson, QB Clemson
Royce Freeman, RB Oregon
While leading TCU to a 13-1
record in 2014, Trevone
Boykin threw for 3901 yards
and 33 TDs.  Boykin also
added 707 yards rushing and
8 more scores.
Ohio State's Cardale Jones
stepped in after the
Buckeyes sustained two QB
losses in 2014.  He
responded by leading OSU
to a national championship.
2015 Heisman
Trophy Winner
Derrick Henry
The University of Alabama running
back led the Crimson Tide's
offensive charge with 1986 yards
rushing and 23 touchdowns.  Henry
also added 97 yards receiving.  
Henry eclipsed the 200 yard mark
four times in SEC wins over Texas
A&M, Mississippi State, LSU and
Auburn.  Henry scored 3
touchdowns 3 times.  The Crimson
Tide Back edged out Stanford's
Christian McCaffrey and Clemson's
Deshaun Watson in the Heisman
voting. Henry is the second Bama
player to win the award. (Mark
Ingram 2009)
Christian McCaffrey
finished second in the Heisman voting
after He broke Barry Sanders’ single-
season record for all-purpose yards
(3,250) set in 1988. McCaffrey has 3,496
for the season.
Clemson's Deshaun Watson
finished 3rd in the voting after leading
Clemson to an undefeated 13-0
season that saw Clemson win the ACC
and enter the College Football Playoffs
as the No. 1 seed.  Watson passed for
3512 yards, 30 TD's and 11 Int's.
2015 Heisman Trophy
Voting Results
Total Points
1st Place Votes
Derrick Henry (RB)
Christian McCaffrey
Stanford (RB)
Deshaun Watson
Clemson (QB)
Baker Mayfield
Oklahoma (QB)
Keenan Reynolds
Navy (QB)
Alabama 2015
Champions Gear