BYU Football Facts, History and Traditions
A common site at BYU's
LaVell Edwards Stadium is
BYU's mascot, Cosmo the
BYU Football Facts and History
  • First football season: 1896
  • First bowl appearance: 1974 Fiesta Bowl - The Cougars lost to Oklahoma State 16 to 6 in the late-
    December game.
  • National Championships: 1 - Head Coach Lavell Edwards squad posted an undefeated 13-0
    record that culminated with a Holiday Bowl win over Michigan.  The Cougars ranked #1 in both the
    AP and Coaches Poll.
  • Heisman Trophy Winners: Ty Detmer 1990 - The Cougars QB passed for 5,188 yards and 41
    TD's.  Detmer leading the Cougars to a victory over top ranked Miami provided Heisman
  • Most Winningest Coach: Lavell Edwards - The Cougars coaching legend coached the University's
    football team from 1972-1990.  With his pass-happy offensive philosophy, Edwards posted an
    overall record of 257-101-3 and guided the school to its only national championship.
  • Super Bowl Winning QB's: Jim McMahon (Chicago) & Steve Young (San Francisco)
The BYU Cougar football program has a proud championship heritage that includes a national
championship, Heisman Trophy winner and Super Bowl champions
Quarterback "U"
With the championship level of
play by Jim McMahon and
Steve Young, Brigham Young
QB's have made a "Super"
impact in the NFL.
LaVell Edwards Stadium
1990 Heisman Trophy Winner Ty Detmer
1990 Heisman Winner