Baylor Bears Football History and Football Stars
Discover the many highlights of Bears football and its biggest stars
The Baylor Bears football program continues to emerge in the Big 12 and throughout the college football landscape.  
With major bowl appearances and Heisman Trophy winners, Bears football is getting larger on the map
Click Here For
Baylor Men's Jerseys
Baylor Bears Football Jerseys
Baylor University
Learn about the live bear
mascot tradition and much
Floyd Casey Stadium
This 50,000 seat facility has been
the home of the Bears since
1950.  Originally known as Baylor
Stadium, it was renamed in 1989
after Floyd Casey, after longtime
University supporter and trustee
Carl B. Casey and his wife
Thelma contributed $5 million of
an $8 million renovation project in
honor of his father Floyd
Football Legends
Mike Singletary is school's top
player who not only made an
impact for the Bears program, but
the Bears franchise in the NFL.  
Singletary was a two-time SWC
Defensive Player of the Year and
had a Pro Football Hall of Fame
Career with the Chicago Bears.
Baylor University Football Fast Facts
  • The University first fielded a football team in 1899
  • The school first adopted a mascot when they became
    the Bears in 1914.
  • The University has featured a live Bear mascot since
  • The University's first conference championship was
    gained in 1922 when they won the SWC
  • The top coach in the program's history is Grant Teaff
    who guided his teams to two conference
    championships and eight bowl games in 21 years.  
  • The Bears won their first SWC Conference
    championship in 1974 when BU defeated Texas in
    what is known as the "Miracle on the Brazos."  The 34-
    24 win over Texas was the first one in 17 years for
    Teaff's squad.   
  • Mike Singletary is the University's top NFL product.  
    After winning Southwest Conference Player of the Year
    honors in 1979 and 1980.  After an All-Pro career with
    the Chicago Bears, Singletary was inducted into the
    Pro Football Hall of Fame.
  • BU's biggest rivals are Texas A&M, Texas Tech and
2011 Heisman
A review of the historic
season that produced the
University's first Heisman
RG3 Captures the
2011 Heisman Trophy
With the exciting announcement
that Robert Griffin III was the 2011
winner of college football's top
individual award, Baylor University
also captures its first Heisman
Griffin had a breakout season that
included wins over TCU,
Oklahoma, Kansas State and
Texas.  While other school's
recruited RG 3 to play another
position, it was Baylor head coach
Art Briles that told Griffin that if he
came to Waco, he'd have a chance
to compete for the QB position.  As
the 2011 Heisman vote attests,
Griffin III did that and much more!
QB Robert Griffin III is all smiles while
showing off the 2011 Heisman Trophy at
the awards ceremony on December 10,
Griffin III was the top rated QB in the
nation and led the Bears to a 9-3 regular
season record.
Heisman Trophy
Winners in the NFL
Discover which pro teams
drafted these college stars
and what round of the draft
they were selected
Click Here For
Robert Griffin III
Washington Redskins Jersey