The Big 10 power is a leader in Pro Football Hall of Fame Members
Few colleges can match the presence that "Big Blue" has in Canton and the school has also made quite an impact on the Super Bowl. - Heisman Trophy Winners - Heisman Trophy Candidates - Heisman Trophy HistoryBest Michigan Wolverine Football Players in NFL History
Discover which Michigan stars have made the biggest impact in Pro Football
Michigan Football
Jerseys & Gear
Gameday Gear
UM Stars in Canton
Before becoming an NFL
broadcaster, Dan Dierdorf
anchored the St. Louis Cardinals
offensive line.
Jake Long became the second
player from the University to be
selected first in the NFL Draft
when the Miami Dolphins picked
him in 2008
Charles Woodson
After winning the 1997
Heisman Trophy, Woodson
has become one of the NFL's
best defensive backs of
Dan Dierdorf: Inducted in 1996 after a lengthy career with the St. Louis
Rams.  Was a 3-time First Team All-Pro.

Len Ford: Inducted in 1976 after an 11-year career (1948-58).  Starred as a
defensive end and end and was a 4-time First Team All-Pro.

Bill Hewitt: Inducted in 1971.  Played 9 NFL seasons and was a 4-time First
Team NFL All-Pro.  Began pro career in 1932 and retired in 1943

Elroy “Crazylegs” Hirsch: Inducted in 1968 after 12 pro seasons (1946-
57).  Was a two-time First-Team All-Pro.

Tom Mack: Inducted in 1999 after a 13-year career with the Los Angeles
Rams.  Played guard and was a one-time First-Team All-Pro.  Made 11 Pro

Ralph Wilson Jr. One of original founders of American Football League and
longtime owner of the Buffalo Bills.

Benny Friedman: Inducted in 2005 after playing for 8 pro seasons form

George Allen: In 12 seasons with the Los Angeles Rams from 1966 through
1970 and the Washington Redskins from 1971 through 1977, George Allen
compiled a 116-47-5 regular season record as a head coach.
UM Players
Selected With the First
Pick of the NFL Draft
  • Tom Harmon, RB,
    1941 - Chicago
  • Jake Long, OT, 2008
    Miami Dolphins
Headed Towards Canton
Michigan Wolverines in the Pro Football Hall of Fame
With eight "Big Blue" members enshrined in Canton, the University of Michigan ranks
3rd overall with the most representatives in the hallowed hall.  Only Notre Dame and
USC have more.
Tom Brady: Finished the 2011
season ranked 5th all-time with 300
passing TD’s.  Brady is a 3-time Super
Bowl champion and has won the game’
s MVP award twice.  Began his career
in 2000 as a 6th round draft choice.

Charles Woodson: Through 14
NFL seasons (1998-2011), Woodson
has been a 3-time First Team All-Pro
and has earned 8 Pro Bowls.  Was the
2009 AP NFL Defensive Player of the

Steve Hutchinson: Since being
drafted by Seattle in 2001, the offensive
guard has been a perennial Pro Bowl
and All-Pro selection.  Hutchinson was
a member of the NFL 2000s All-
Decade Team.  
AP NFL Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year (First
announced in 1967)

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Anthony Thomas 2001 Chicago Bears

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Charles Woodson 1998 Oakland

AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award (First
announced in 1971)

Charles Woodson 2009 Green Bay Packers

AP NFL MVP’s (The award was first announced in 1957)

Tom Brady 2007 and 2010 New England Patriots

Super Bowl MVP’s

Desmond Howard Super Bowl XXXI (1996 season) Green Bay Packers
Tom Brady Super Bowl XXXVI (2001 season) New England Patriots
Tom Brady Super Bowl XXXVIII (2003 season) New England Patriots
UM Major NFL Award Winners
A "Super" Star
Desmond Howard won Super Bowl
XXXI MVP honors with his return
skills that lifted the Packers to a
35-21 championship victory over the
Patriots.  Howard sparked the
Packers victory with a 99-yard TD
kickoff return and totaled a
combined 224 yards with is kick and
punt returns.
Notable NFL Quarterbacks
While Tom Brady has set the Michigan pro football standard both Jim
Harbaugh and Elvis Grbac earned NFL headlines for their stellar play.
Jim Harbaugh
Elvis Grbac
After being drafted with the 26th overall pick of
the 1987 NFL Draft by the Chicago Bears,
Harbaugh played 15 pro seasons that included
stints in Chicago, Indianapolis, Baltimore, San
Diego and Carolina.  In 1995, the former Wolverine
earned Pro Bowl honors and was named the UPI
AFL-AFC Player of the Year.  Harbaugh totaled
26,288 yards passing and compiled a 129-117
TD/INT ratio.  As a head coach Harbaugh has
enjoyed success in San Francisco.
After leaving Ann Arbor following the 1992